Young honored with O'Brien Award
by Yolande Lezine (2/20/2006)

Fort Worth, Texas-Texas Longhorn quarterback Vince
Young was presented the 2005 Davey O'Brien National
Quarterback Award by the Davey O'Brien Foundation on
Monday night at the Fort Worth Club in downtown Fort

Young becomes the second Longhorn to ever receive
the award, following Earl Campbell in 1977, and the
fourth player from the greater Houston area. Other
previous winners were: Michael
Singletary(Worthing/Baylor), Andre
Ware(Dickinson/Houston) and Michael
Bishop(Hempstead/Kansas State).

"It means a whole lot to me, knowing the same
things Davey O'Brien went through, a lot of people
said he was too small to play the position, but he
showed the world he could do it," Young said. "It's
similar with me. They said I couldn't be a
quarterback, but just continuing to work with Coach
Davis, and not worrying what the critics had to say,
and just concentrating on the mental part of the game,
it all helped to show the world that I can play

The 6'5" junior and Houston native received
numerous honors this season, including the Maxwell and
Manning Awards. He was runner-up for the Heisman
trophy and he was named the Cingular/ABC Sports Player
of the Year, consensus first-team All-American and was
the unanimous choice for Big 12 Offensive Player of
the Year.

Young started all thirteen games in 2005 and went
for 212-of-325(65.2%) for 3,036 yards and 26
touchdowns passing, along with 1,050 yards rushing and
12 touchdowns. His 164.0 passing efficiency rating
was third in the nation. Young became Texas'
single-season leader in total offense with 4,086 yards
in 2005, bettering Major Applewhite's record of 3,211.
He led the Longhorns to their first Big 12
Championship since 1966 by throwing for 193 yards and
three touchdowns and added 57 yards rushing in just
over two quarters against Colorado.

The Davey O'Brien Foundation was established in
1977 to present the O'Brien Memorial Trophy,
recognizing annually the outstanding college football
player in the five southwestern states of Texas,
Louisiana, Arkansas, Oklahoma and New Mexico. In 1981,
the award was redirected to be national in scope but
limited to quarterback, the favorite position of the
award's namesake, Davey O'Brien.

O'Brien led the TCU Horned Frogs to the 1938
national championship and was the first player to win
the Heisman, Walter Camp and Maxwell Awards in one
season. A high school scholarship program began in
1986, awarding annually a $20,000 college scholarship
to an outstanding senior student-athlete in the
Dallas/Fort Worth metroplex. Since 1977 the Davey
O'Brien Foundation has awarded over $248,000 to the
various O'Brien winners universities and more than
$380,000 to deserving high school students.